Ventspils House hand out the Silver Ink-Pot awards 2016


September 5, 2016

Ventspils House hand out the Silver Ink-Pot awards 2016

attachment file

For the fifth time in its 10 years of existing, the International Writers' and Translators' House along with Ventspils city council has awarded authors with special prizes for poetry, prose and translation created in this residency.

This year, the judges decided to award translator Maima Grīnberga for translating Aino Pervik's children's book “President Stories” (publ. as “Prezidents” by Liels un mazs) and Rosa Liksom's “Compartment No 6” (original title: “Hytti nro 6”, publ. Zvaigzne ABC), poet Jānis Rokpelnis for his collection of poems “Post factum” (publ. Neputns), and writer Nora Ikstena for her novel “Mother's Milk” (“Mātes piens”, publ. Dienas Grāmata). The award as well as 900 EUR prize money is given for outstanding contribution annually.

Every year, Ventspils city council also awards two grants for excellence. One to a culturally significant, acclaimed Latvian literati, and the other to a young and promising writer. This year these were given to Juris Zvirgzdiņš for his innumerable and beloved children's books, and Svens Kuzmins for his début in literature with the book “Urban Shamans” (“Pilsētas šamaņi”). These grants are also awarded annually and include 500 EUR, as well as four weeks residency in the International Writers' and Translators' House.

The Silver Ink-Pot was first given in praise of work in poetry, prose and translation created in Ventspils Writers' House in 2008.   Laureates back then included such successful authors as Agnese Krivade (Latvia, poetry), Kevin Vennemann (Germany, prose), Sergejs Moreino (Latvia/Moscow, translation); in 2010, Kristiina Ehin (Estonia, poetry), Andra Manfelde, (Latvia, prose), Aleksandrs Zapoļs (Latvia, translation); in 2012, Eduards Aivars (Latvija, poetry), Inga Žolude (Latvia, prose), Dace Meiere (Latvija, translation); in 2014, Gundega Repše (Latvia, prose), Inese Zandere (Latvia, poetry), Naira Hačatrjana (Armenia, translation).

Up until now, the grants have been awarded to such recognised authors as Valdis Bisenieks, Andris Kolbergs, Knuts Skujenieks, Imants Auziņš, Uldis Bērziņš, Gundega Blumberga, and Inta Čaklā; and young perspective literati like Andris Ogriņš, Arvis Viguls, Artis Ostups, Alise Zariņa, Jānis Vādons, Jānis Joņevs, Zanda Tereško, and Toms Treibergs.